Turkish National Anthem

Turkish National Anthem, composed by the greatest Ottoman poet, Mehmet Akif Ersoy.

(speaking to: turkish flag which symbolizes the bloods of martyrs)

Ottoman Flag

Ottoman Flag

Fear not! the crimson flag shall not fade and proudly ripples in the twilight,
Before ablazing within my nation, the last fiery hearth
For that is “the star” of my nation, and it will forever shine;
It is mine and solely belongs to my valiant nation that will shine.

Flag of Turkish Republic

Frown not, I beseech you, oh thou coy “crescent”,
But smile upon my heroic race! Why this anger, why this rage?
This blood of ours, we shed for you, shall not be blessed otherwise;
Freedom for my God-worshiping nation is its absolute right.

(Translation from turkish may differ due to aspect of translators)

Published in: on December 12, 2009 at 12:19 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ottomanblog.wordpress.com/2009/12/12/turkish-national-anthem/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment